Spotted Owl Sage – Poem

Spotted Owl

August 2015

Spotted Owl Sage               

 

Wandering through


Nearby forest trails

 

Those trees for the first time

Each their own I sensed

 

Magnificent spirit presence

Towering above, watching

 

My passing by below

As something to my left

 

Rustled in the brush, sounding

Larger than the usual bird

 

To my awe and delight

An owl took off in flight!

 

“Follow me”, it said, landing

On a tree branch up ahead

 

Allowing me to come near

Take some photos, and even

 

Pass right underneath

For a better view and silent gaze

 

Giant black eyes into me

Reassuringly, that all is well

 

To continue on my path

Going deeper, within, my own

 

Trusting wisdom knowing heart

 

With that it flew off again

Its presence and presents

 

Embedded satisfyingly upon

My memory, for faith worn days

 

Of my own often awkward

Feather rustling flight

Leave a Reply

